ALFINE 8 SPEED HUB REVIEW



Alfine 8 Speed Hub Review

Shimano Alfine 11-Speed Internal Geared Hub All Seasons. Dec 10, 2008 · A review of the Shimano Alfine internally geared hub, as fitted to Tony's Inbred 456 mountain bike. Fortunately for my wallet, at about this time Shimano released the Alfine, an upgrade of the Nexus 8 speed hub, with improved internals and most importantly a disc mount., Find many great new & used options and get the best deals for Shimano Alfine Sl-s7000-8 8-speed Rapidfire Shifter for Internallygeared Hub at the best online prices at ….

SHIMANO ALFINE Internal Geared Hub Disc Brake 8-speed

Shimano Alfine 8-Speed Internal Geared Hub All Seasons. I sat in on part of a tech seminar for Shimano's internal gear hubs. They said that the MY 2009 8 speed hubs are moving to a roller clutch instead of a pawl system. I think this is like the Stealth hub. They went on to say that this should result in silent operation and quicker engagement., Sep 13, 2014 · Alfine 8 speed internal geared hub long term review About 4 years ago I was in the position to replace my old 26″ aluminium framed mountain bike. It had served well for 10 years of riding 3 times per week, including some long off road tours, forest single track, beaches and twice weekly training loop of 20km..

Nov 30, 2010В В· The stated weight is now 1590g, which is 90g lighter than Shimano's weight for an Alfine 8 and less than a Speedhub too. However, we've now received a second boxed hub to go with our built up one and straight out of the box it tips the scales at 1744g, a fair whack heavier than list. Feb 10, 2019В В· My experience with IGH is a new SA 3 speed and a very used and rusty Nexus 8 speed with coaster brake. I have around 100 kms on this hub. It really feel like rolling good from the start, doesn't seem to need any bedding to me. No noise on any gears. I don't like the new "top down" shifting.

Whether in an 8-speed or 11-speed configuration, ALFINE presents a clean look and a wide gear range that serve to enhance any frame. Hit the town in style, with ALFINE — a high-grade groupset built for the sophisticated urban rider. Along with its premium build quality, ALFINE brings you finesse, versatility, and effortless operation. A "clunk" now and again on a Shimano 8 speed hub is normal. It is the sun gear rotating and engaging the axle pawls. Even if you pedal lightly it will make that noise/feeling but not as loud. The harder you pedal during shifting or right after, the louder the noise. It can change as the hub gets older.

Jul 19, 2008 · Product Review – Shimano Nexus “Red Band” 8-Speed Hub “Internal gear hubs are more reliable than derailer systems, and require much less maintenance. … Jan 09, 2018 · My BBSHD commuter bike came with a Nexus 8 and I have a backup Alfine 8 wheelset for it. Both hubs have held up great so far. I avoid full power shifts, and have a gearshift sensor. Also, the bike overall gearing is optimized for the 1:1 fifth gear. There are several variations of the Shimano 8-speed hub.

Shimano Alfine Inter 11 Internal Gear hub

alfine 8 speed hub review

Shimano SG-7001-8 Alfine 8 Speed Rear Hub Universal Cycles. Whether in an 8-speed or 11-speed configuration, ALFINE presents a clean look and a wide gear range that serve to enhance any frame. Hit the town in style, with ALFINE — a high-grade groupset built for the sophisticated urban rider. Along with its premium build quality, ALFINE brings you finesse, versatility, and effortless operation., Shimano SG-S7051 Alfine Di2 8 Speed Rear Hub :: From $198.00 :: Shimano 135mm Rear Hubs :: UniversalCycles.com - 30,000+ mountain & road cycling parts. Online & in Portland Oregon since 1997. West Coast, East Coast & Midwest warehouses. Retail Stores in ….

Shimano Nexus Alfine 8 speed How it works YouTube

alfine 8 speed hub review

Shimano SG-7001-8 Alfine 8 Speed Rear Hub Universal Cycles. Nov 08, 2012 · The Shimano Alfine hub basically replaces an 8 speed cassette in a 12-38 tooth configuration, and it can only do this by using a 20 tooth sprocket. A weight of 1.590 grams is not on everyone’s taste, and even if you put together the weight of a cassette, a hub and a rear derailleur you’re still far from reaching these figures. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shimano_Alfine Nov 30, 2010 · The stated weight is now 1590g, which is 90g lighter than Shimano's weight for an Alfine 8 and less than a Speedhub too. However, we've now received a second boxed hub to go with our built up one and straight out of the box it tips the scales at 1744g, a fair whack heavier than list..

alfine 8 speed hub review


Find many great new & used options and get the best deals for Shimano Alfine Sl-s7000-8 8-speed Rapidfire Shifter for Internallygeared Hub at the best online prices at … Shimano SG-S7051 Alfine Di2 8 Speed Rear Hub :: From $198.00 :: Shimano 135mm Rear Hubs :: UniversalCycles.com - 30,000+ mountain & road cycling parts. Online & in Portland Oregon since 1997. West Coast, East Coast & Midwest warehouses. Retail Stores in …

Nov 08, 2012 · The Shimano Alfine hub basically replaces an 8 speed cassette in a 12-38 tooth configuration, and it can only do this by using a 20 tooth sprocket. A weight of 1.590 grams is not on everyone’s taste, and even if you put together the weight of a cassette, a hub and a rear derailleur you’re still far from reaching these figures. Jan 28, 2009 · Well, Shimano’s eight-speed Alfine hub, with trigger shifters and disk brake option, gives similar performance to the Inter-8 but with less of a weight penalty (though more cost) and would suit...

Jan 09, 2012 · This has provided ample opportunity to ride the bike in all sorts of different conditions. I have ridden fully loaded, long distances, and short commutes. Click through for the full review. As mentioned, the Finesse is a flat bar commuter oriented bike, and it runs a full Shimano Alfine 8 speed … This is a review for the SA 5 Speed hub with internal drum brake (the hub isn't listed, so I put it here). I had this hub built onto a new Sun wheel by Covered Bridge Cyclery to convert my single speed commuter for a hillier commute. It works well (as advertised), but there are a couple of issues.

alfine 8 speed hub review

Shimano makes several 8 speed internally geared rear hubs, and for 2011, they also have an Alfine hub with 11 speeds. The Nexus 8 speed takes an optional roller brake, and the Alfine 8 speed and 11 speed hubs take a centerlock disc that works with most disc brake systems. Apr 08, 2019 · The weight is comparable to the old Alfine Nexus 11. That hub is only 15 grams heavier and has 11 gears and a 403% total gear ratio versus 5 gears and a 263% total gear ratio for the SG-C7000-5D. This looks like a lower end version of the Nexus 11 with a …

Alfine 8 hub gears are they reliable? Singletrack

alfine 8 speed hub review

Shimano Alfine 11-Speed Internal Geared Hub All Seasons. The Shimano Alfine 8 is a dependable, smooth shifting internal geared hub that doesn’t let snow, mud, rain or slush interfere with its operation. Shifting with the Alfine 8 is so smooth and quiet it is almost magical—and you never have to worry about a misaligned derailleur or bent hanger., Jul 05, 2011 · Originally I wanted to use a single speed 32T crankset with a 23T rear cog. The problem is the Alfine and Paul tensioners have a max cog size of 20T. Susanita put another season on that bike and then we decided to build her a Jamis 29er with the Alfine hub. I built a Niner Sir9 using the hub as well. I read your review and appreciate.

MAINTENANCE MANUAL

I'm Done With Internal Gear Hubs RoadBikeReview.com. Find many great new & used options and get the best deals for Shimano Alfine Sl-s7000-8 8-speed Rapidfire Shifter for Internallygeared Hub at the best online prices at …, Shimano makes several 8 speed internally geared rear hubs, and for 2011, they also have an Alfine hub with 11 speeds. The Nexus 8 speed takes an optional roller brake, and the Alfine 8 speed and 11 speed hubs take a centerlock disc that works with most disc brake systems..

This is a review for the SA 5 Speed hub with internal drum brake (the hub isn't listed, so I put it here). I had this hub built onto a new Sun wheel by Covered Bridge Cyclery to convert my single speed commuter for a hillier commute. It works well (as advertised), but there are a couple of issues. Shimano makes several 8 speed internally geared rear hubs, and for 2011, they also have an Alfine hub with 11 speeds. The Nexus 8 speed takes an optional roller brake, and the Alfine 8 speed and 11 speed hubs take a centerlock disc that works with most disc brake systems.

Nov 30, 2010 · The stated weight is now 1590g, which is 90g lighter than Shimano's weight for an Alfine 8 and less than a Speedhub too. However, we've now received a second boxed hub to go with our built up one and straight out of the box it tips the scales at 1744g, a fair whack heavier than list. Shimano SG-7001-8 Alfine 8 Speed Rear Hub :: From $199.99 :: Shimano 135mm Rear Hubs :: UniversalCycles.com - 30,000+ mountain & road cycling parts. Online & in Portland Oregon since 1997. West Coast, East Coast & Midwest warehouses. Retail Stores in …

Nov 30, 2010В В· The stated weight is now 1590g, which is 90g lighter than Shimano's weight for an Alfine 8 and less than a Speedhub too. However, we've now received a second boxed hub to go with our built up one and straight out of the box it tips the scales at 1744g, a fair whack heavier than list. I sat in on part of a tech seminar for Shimano's internal gear hubs. They said that the MY 2009 8 speed hubs are moving to a roller clutch instead of a pawl system. I think this is like the Stealth hub. They went on to say that this should result in silent operation and quicker engagement.

Jan 09, 2018 · My BBSHD commuter bike came with a Nexus 8 and I have a backup Alfine 8 wheelset for it. Both hubs have held up great so far. I avoid full power shifts, and have a gearshift sensor. Also, the bike overall gearing is optimized for the 1:1 fifth gear. There are several variations of the Shimano 8-speed hub. The Shimano Alfine 8 is a dependable, smooth shifting internal geared hub that doesn’t let snow, mud, rain or slush interfere with its operation. Shifting with the Alfine 8 is so smooth and quiet it is almost magical—and you never have to worry about a misaligned derailleur or bent hanger.

No problems with the gears themselves. The disc mount ring split from the main hub on my first one (an 8). It was replaced under warranty, and my second Alfine has been fine with no problems yet Nov 15, 2014В В· I've put serious commuter miles over the last 5 years on my Alfine 8 with zero issues, and I have customers on 11s, once again for commuting, with no problems. But I personally wouldn't use an Alfine for off-road or loaded touring use - just beyond the intended usage scope of the hubs.

This is a review for the SA 5 Speed hub with internal drum brake (the hub isn't listed, so I put it here). I had this hub built onto a new Sun wheel by Covered Bridge Cyclery to convert my single speed commuter for a hillier commute. It works well (as advertised), but there are a couple of issues. Nov 30, 2011В В· The first version of the 8-speed Nexus hubs had sealing issues. Those were corrected in later versions. If you read the reviews from long term users of the 8-speed Shimano Alfine/Nexus Red Band hubs, the consensus is positive. Years from now, I think they will be looked at as one of the most reliable components made.

Apr 08, 2019 · The weight is comparable to the old Alfine Nexus 11. That hub is only 15 grams heavier and has 11 gears and a 403% total gear ratio versus 5 gears and a 263% total gear ratio for the SG-C7000-5D. This looks like a lower end version of the Nexus 11 with a … Jan 16, 2016 · The 8 speed Alfine/Nexus hubs are a mixed bag, with a highly variable efficiency, lower in most gears, but exceeding even the Rohloff by peaking at 96% in the 7th gear. In conclusion, the Rohloff Speedhub has the a greatest range, it has a higher or equal efficiency in every gear, and is the best of all internal gear hubs in this test.

dorkythorpy Shimano Alfine 11 Hub Gear Review

alfine 8 speed hub review

Shimano Alfine Inter 11 Internal Gear hub. Apr 08, 2019 · The weight is comparable to the old Alfine Nexus 11. That hub is only 15 grams heavier and has 11 gears and a 403% total gear ratio versus 5 gears and a 263% total gear ratio for the SG-C7000-5D. This looks like a lower end version of the Nexus 11 with a …, Jan 02, 2012 · Alfine (“Al-feen-eh,” not “All-fine”) is Shimano’s high end IGH (internally geared hub) group, a step above the Nexus 3-, 7-, and 8-speed hubs. The group consists of the rear hub, trigger shifter, front dynamo hub, hydraulic disc brakes, crankset with guard, and a ….

Shimano Alfine Inter 11 Internal Gear hub

alfine 8 speed hub review

IGH Battle Rohloff vs Shimano Alfine 11. Nov 30, 2011В В· The first version of the 8-speed Nexus hubs had sealing issues. Those were corrected in later versions. If you read the reviews from long term users of the 8-speed Shimano Alfine/Nexus Red Band hubs, the consensus is positive. Years from now, I think they will be looked at as one of the most reliable components made. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shimano_Alfine Nov 15, 2014В В· I've put serious commuter miles over the last 5 years on my Alfine 8 with zero issues, and I have customers on 11s, once again for commuting, with no problems. But I personally wouldn't use an Alfine for off-road or loaded touring use - just beyond the intended usage scope of the hubs..

alfine 8 speed hub review


Nov 30, 2010В В· The stated weight is now 1590g, which is 90g lighter than Shimano's weight for an Alfine 8 and less than a Speedhub too. However, we've now received a second boxed hub to go with our built up one and straight out of the box it tips the scales at 1744g, a fair whack heavier than list. May 16, 2008В В· Shimano Alfine Disc Hub review. Latest deals. This is a bit of a shame because the efficiency of the hub deserves the speed of a multiple gear changer like a twist shifter.

Jul 05, 2011В В· Originally I wanted to use a single speed 32T crankset with a 23T rear cog. The problem is the Alfine and Paul tensioners have a max cog size of 20T. Susanita put another season on that bike and then we decided to build her a Jamis 29er with the Alfine hub. I built a Niner Sir9 using the hub as well. I read your review and appreciate This is a review for the SA 5 Speed hub with internal drum brake (the hub isn't listed, so I put it here). I had this hub built onto a new Sun wheel by Covered Bridge Cyclery to convert my single speed commuter for a hillier commute. It works well (as advertised), but there are a couple of issues.

Shimano Alfine 11 Hub Gear Review - Conclusions Whilst lacking the direct feel of a typical derailleur system, the Alfine 11 hub is an excellent bit of kit. If you are a utility cyclist, a tourer, a commuter or a rural rambler, then the quiet hassle free nature of the hub will suit you very well. Shimano SG-7001-8 Alfine 8 Speed Rear Hub :: From $199.99 :: Shimano 135mm Rear Hubs :: UniversalCycles.com - 30,000+ mountain & road cycling parts. Online & in Portland Oregon since 1997. West Coast, East Coast & Midwest warehouses. Retail Stores in …

On a tandem an internal gear hub is highly recommended by many as more ride-able. We replaced derailleur on a tandem with this Alfine 8-speed internal geared rear hub and love it. It has its quirks. You have to buy an indexed shift lever with it. Mar 12, 2012В В· C: Having a new custom made wheel built possibly even upgrading to the newly available Alfine 11-speed hub or using a hub with hub brakes. That option would likely cost me over $750 just based on the price of the hub and shifter alone being close to $700.

Nov 30, 2010 · The stated weight is now 1590g, which is 90g lighter than Shimano's weight for an Alfine 8 and less than a Speedhub too. However, we've now received a second boxed hub to go with our built up one and straight out of the box it tips the scales at 1744g, a fair whack heavier than list. Jun 04, 2016 · This is not so. A simple check on Sheldon Browns site will give you the ratios but I was more interested in what the final drive would be. – On the Nexus/Alfine 8 speed with my set up it works out to 82.6 Gear Inches while on the Alfine 11 without changing anything other than the hub the final drive works out to 110.1 Gear Inches.

A "clunk" now and again on a Shimano 8 speed hub is normal. It is the sun gear rotating and engaging the axle pawls. Even if you pedal lightly it will make that noise/feeling but not as loud. The harder you pedal during shifting or right after, the louder the noise. It can change as the hub gets older. Jul 25, 2017В В· The Bullitt is available with a Gates Carbon Drive system in its Alfine 8 and Alfine 11 models which includes, as the name suggests, an internally geared Shimano Alfine 8- or 11-speed hub, hydraulic disc brakes, Schawlbe Marathon Supreme tires, and color and build-out options galore.